Viagogo

Jenny –

Victim Location 34221

Total money lost $305.95

Type of a scam Online Purchase

I used viagogo to buy concert tickets to the Tyler, The Creator concert in Tampa, Fl. They charged me double the price of the real tickets, and never sent me a qr code or anything that could actually be used as a ticket. I received an email from them with an order ID and nothing else. Then when I tried to contact the customer support email provided in the email sent to me, it was never answered. Do NOT use this website to buy tickets, I was scammed out of 300 dollars.

Christina –

Victim Location 92408

Total money lost $170

Type of a scam Online Purchase

I bought a ticket for a music festival in Mexico and never received a order confirmation email.. I never heard from them again…

Shannon –

Victim Location 85747

Total money lost $1,200

Type of a scam Online Purchase

Bought ticket on-line through Viagogo to see Celine Dion in concert at Cesears in Vegas during the last week of her residency (May 2019). Bought airline tickets to Vegas and a room for 3 nights. I was so excited to go to the show, one item on my bucket list soon to be achieved. When I arrived at the Venue my ticket to get in wouldn’t work. The barcode kept reading already purchased. When I asked the what that meant the girl told me that someone else had used the same barcode. I asked the girl to get her manager for me and she did. The manager came over and instructed me to call the phone number on the email, which I did, only to find out from the Viagogo representative (on the phone) that the show was sold out and they couldn’t find me another ticket. I was devastated (to say the least). After 30 minutes on the phone I was then instructed by the Viagogo representative to go to the ticket booth at Cesears and buy a ticket there and Viagogo would reimburse me for the total cost of the ticket. I ended having to buy a ticket that was over $500, not to mention the airfare, and room. The next morning the Viagogo representative called me to ask me if I was able to purchase another ticket and I told him that I was but I had to pay over $500 for the ticket. He asked me to take a picture of the ticket and send it to him and he would make sure that I was reimbursed for the ticket. I have stayed in touch with this company since that day and I still have not been reimbursed for the ticket. I have texted, emailed and called. The representative from Viagogo (at the beginning of June) asked me for my banks wire number (I called my bank and got the information for Viagogo) and my account number, still no money sent. A different representative told me that the wired money was processed on June 21, 2019 and it could take 4 weeks. On July 19, 2019 (4 week date) I called again because I still hadn’t received the money, spoke to Jessica who told me that she was going to contact the payment center because it should have already been received at my bank. On July 22, 2019 I called again and spoke to Lalit. He said that he sees where I have been calling but doesn’t know why I haven’t received the money, he would check into it and call me back, still I haven’t heard anything and I called my bank to double check the number they gave me and I was told that no-one has even tried to send a money wire. This is fraud and this company shouldn’t be allowed to treat anyone this way. If I had Eric Baker’s email address (owner of Viagogo) I would send this to him as well. I spent over $1,200.00 and all I have received is a ton of excuses.

Rosa –

Victim Location 19106

Type of a scam Online Purchase

I bought Rolling Stones tickets near the stage for $3500 in November 2019. The concert is July 23, 2019. This morning I get an email from viagogo saying my tickets are being reissued and to download them. When I did my tickets were in the “restricted view” section for $350. I called to complain and get my $$$ back. They kept referring me to terms and conditions. Total fraud!!!

Sierra –

Victim Location 34134

Total money lost $432

Type of a scam Online Purchase

I searched for concert tickets for a band named, "The Eagles". Viagogo.com presented a web page ad that prominently displayed "The Eagles Tickets" and a photograph of the original band. When I purchased the tickets, I found out that the performers WERE NOT the original band, but were a cover band. This advertising was extremely deceptive and I believe, false.

Daniel –

Victim Location 11576

Total money lost $480

Type of a scam Online Purchase

I am in La Vegas and purchased almost $400 dollars worth of Paul McCartney tickets to discover the tickets were never emailed to me as promised. This company apparently has a long history of this as I came back and saw over 1300 complaints on just one website. t\They are a scam and are facing a myriad of lawsuits in many countries. They should be shut down. I am in Vegas for two days and this completely ruined my time here.

Katie –

Victim Location 08753

Total money lost $157

Type of a scam Online Purchase

I paid for concert tickets online via Viagogo with my credit card. Never received tickets.

James –

Victim Location 84032

Type of a scam Online Purchase

Viagogo confirmed tickets I purchased, then immediately cancelled my transaction saying the tickets were purchased already.

I entered the website again and the same tickets were for sale, at a higher price.

Again I tried to purchase the tickets. Again Viagogo said they were mine then cancelled the transaction.

Okay, I didn’t get the tickets, and now all my credit was gone and over the limit. The authorizations did not drop off for 10 days!

For curiosity sake I visited the website a third time and saw the same tickets for sale at an even higher price!

Jacqueline –

Victim Location 06419

Total money lost $432

Type of a scam Online Purchase

I purchased two concert tickets from Viagogo. Upon receiving them, I realized that I had paid more than twice their face value. When I arrived at the concert venue, I discovered that the tickets were invalid. The box office staff at the venue advised me that the tickets had been reported as lost and were reissued to someone else. I will steer clear of Viagogo in the future and recommend others do the same.

Gabriel –

Victim Location 11756

Total money lost $246.50

Type of a scam Online Purchase

I PURCHASED TICKETS FOR A HOCKEY GAME. I WAS TOLD THE TICKETS WOULD BE EMAILED TO ME 24 HOURS BEFORE THE EVENT. I CONTACTED THEM 3 TIMES TO TELL THEM I HAD NOT RECEIVED THE TICKETS. I GOOGLED THE REVIEWS AND READ ALL THE HORRIBLE REVIEWS ON THIS COMPANY. I WAS TOLD THAT BY NOON ON THE DAY OF THE EVENT I WOULD HAVE THE TICKETS OR THEY WOULD CONTACT ME AND OFFER ME DIFFERENT TICKETS. IT IS NOW 3:00 AND I STILL HAVE NO TICKETS OR OFFER. THEY ARE NOW AVOIDING MY CALLS AND EMAIL. TOTAL SCAM!! THEY HAVE THE WORST REVIEWS.

Gerald –

Victim Location 28202

Total money lost $898.45

Type of a scam Online Purchase

On 6/30/2018 at 12:50 pm, placed an order on viagogo website for 2 tickets to JLO concert for Saturday, September 1, 2018, at Zappos Theatre Las Vegas. Total charge $898.45

On 8/29/2018 at 2:53 am received an email IMPORTANT: CHANGE IN EVENT DATE stating the show has been rescheduled and will now take place on 9/16/2018.

I immediately try to call and email Viagogo – which is useless. They do not answer calls and you can only correspond via email with the website by using drop-down menu options that do not answer or resolve ANY TYPE OF ISSUE.

I then decide to call directly to the Zappos theatre in Las Vegas as I cannot find anything online stating show has been canceled/changed – 3 DAYS BEFORE THE SHOW??? I still do not have any download or physical tickets in my possession at this time. But the money was immediately charged to my account back on 6/30.

The theatre proceeds to tell me there hasn’t been a 9/1/2018 show scheduled since March of 2018. So VIAGOGO sold me a ticket to a show on 6/30, after that date had been changed. So the ticket they sold me did not even exist at that Theatre for that date when they sold it on their website (THE THEATER SAID THEY WOULD BE WILLING TO VERIFY ALL THIS INFORMATION IF NEEDED) She proceeded to tell me to call back in an hour was going to talk to Supervisor to see if could help. When I called back in an hour, the manager said had received quite a few more calls from customers who bought tickets from Viagogo and had the same issue.

I live on a completely different coast and was going to Las Vegas trip just to see that show, so this was an extremely disappointing trip as I could not change flights/hotel plans on that short notice nor go to the "reschedule" date on 9/16.

The story gets worse, VIAGOGO email with the date change says can’t refund me the money as it was NOT a canceled show, but a reschedule???? My only option was to resell the tickets on THEIR WEBSITE???!!! As this was my only option since did not physically have any tickets in my hand, could not email them about the issue and could not reach them by phone.

I proceed to list the tickets on their website… but of course they never sell. See the email they sent me. It states 2 odd things:

1. Your tickets will be taken off sale 5 days before the event

2. To increase the chance of selling "pre-upload" them to our website – HOW CAN I DO THIS WHEN YOU NEVER SENT ME TICKETS??

I’ve never had an issue with any tickets I’ve ever purchased and deeply offended by this companies behavior. I don’t know how they are getting away with this. Obviously, I am not the only one dealing with this as now I have googled them and see they are in the news and dealing w/ ticket scams like this in the UK. As well, the Theatre box office also confirmed there were many others as well impacted by the same issue I had.

Teresa –

Victim Location 77479

Total money lost $1,200

Type of a scam Online Purchase

I bought a ticket at a very high price for an event the site indicated at the time of check out the ticket was ready for delivery, right after check out the delivery was stated the ticket will reach in the last week.

I tried contacting the merchant no luck then saw online it’s a scamming company I tried reaching out for a very long time with no luck. After I made an account from my sisters email that’s when I got a hold of a rep. However they are not refunding my money neither are they providing any evidence of tickets existence.

The sole reason for buying from them was speedy delivery it’s been 5 months!

Kellie –

Victim Location 98074

Total money lost $109.26

Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

I bought 2 tickets to see Queen/Adam Lambert concert at Key Arena in Seattle on July 1, 2017. When I arrived, there were other people in the seats I purchased who also purchased tickets through the same website. The Viagogo website ticket reseller sold the same set of tickets TWICE! I was scammed and was unable to use the tickets for the seats I purchased.

3 thoughts on “Viagogo”

  1. Yep, they got me, too! I bought tickets to a concert…found out the next day that the concert had been cancelled for weeks at the time of my purchase, AND that I had paid 10 times as much as the venue was charging for the same tickets. Trying to dispute the charges on my credit card, but being told that I have to wait until after the canceled show date to process the dispute…meanwhile, the vendor is holding $500 of my money…SCAM ALERT! PS I called them twice and emailed them one trying to get my money back prior to calling my credit card company

  2. Money lost: $326.74

    I was talking to my niece about Justin Bieber tickets in NZ and looking at sites that were selling it, and she let me know about Viagogo and how it was scam website. I unknowingly made a purchase for Tyler the Creator tickets days prior, where he would be coming in NZ in 2022. I only received an email with the order I.D but never received the tickets. This should’ve been a red flag but didn’t think much of it as email said they will send it a week prior to the event until my conversation with my niece where she brought up that they were in the news for scamming people.

    DO not recommend Viagogo

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *